Meet our Executive Committee

The Council is governed by elected officers that form the Executive Committee. The members of the committee include the president, a vice president/president-elect, secretary, and treasurer. When possible, the immediate past president is also asked to sit on the executive committee.

The council meets twice each year, once during the spring semester and once during the fall semester. The spring meeting is planned as a conference for graduate administrators and staff. The annual business meeting is held during the spring conference. The fall meeting allows administrators to carry forward the work initiated by the Council.

2022 - 2023 GCGS Officers

J. Celeste Walley-Jean, Ph.D.                                                                                                                                                                              Dean, School of Graduate Studies & Inclusive Engagement                                                                                                                    Professor of Psychology, Clayton State University
Vice President/President Elect:
Nadine Kabengi, Ph.D.                                                                                                                                                                                    Associate Dean, The Graduate School
Associate Professor, Department of Geosciences, Georgia State University
Nikki C. Palamiotis, M.P.H., | Interim Senior Assistant Dean for Graduate Enrollment, The Graduate College, Kennesaw State University
Shanda Brand |  Director of Graduate Programs in Education, Georgia College & State University
Dori Neptune | Assistant Director, Integrated Graduate Student Services - Georgia State University Graduate School

GCGS Past Presidents

2021-2022: Marla Bruner, Ed.D. | Director of Graduate Studies, Georgia Institute of Technology
2019 - 2020: David Baugher | Senior Assistant Dean of The Graduate College, Kennesaw State University
2018-2019: Lisa Armistead, Ph.D. | Dean, Georgia State University Graduate School, Professor of Psychology
2017-2018: Loretta A. Clayton, Ph.D. | Director of Graduate Student Policy and Support, Professor of English and Interdisciplinary Studies , Middle Georgia State University
2016-2017: Leslie N. Sharp, Ph.D. | Associate Vice Provost Graduate Education and Faculty Development, Georgia Institute of Technology